EPS announces 2020 accelerator awards

8 May 2020

The European Physical Society’s accelerator group (EPS-AG) has announced the winners of its 2020 prizes, which are awarded every three years for outstanding achievements in the accelerator field. The prizes will be presented on 14 May during the International Particle Accelerator Conference (IPAC), which was planned to be held at the GANIL laboratory in Caen, France, and will now take place from 11-14 May in a virtual format due to restrictions resulting from the COVID-19 epidemic.

Lucio Rossi

The EPS-AG Rolf Widerøe Prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field has been given to Lucio Rossi of CERN, who is project leader for the high-luminosity LHC. Rossi, who initially worked in plasma physics before moving into applied superconductivity for particle accelerators, was rewarded “for his pioneering role in the development of superconducting magnet technology for accelerators and experiments, its application to complex projects in high-energy physics including strongly driving industrial capability, and for his tireless effort in promoting the field of accelerator science and technology”.

Hideaki Hotchi

The Gersch Budker Prize for a recent significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, has been awarded to Hideaki Hotchi of J-PARC in Japan. He receives the prize for his achievements “in the commissioning of the J-PARC Rapid Cycling Synchrotron, with sustained 1 MW operation at unprecedented low levels of beam loss made possible by his exceptional understanding of complex beam dynamics processes, thereby laying the foundations for future high power proton synchrotrons worldwide”.

The Frank Sacherer Prize, for an individual in the early part of his or her career goes, to Johannes Steinmann of Argonne national Laboratory for his “significant contribution to the development and demonstration of ultra-fast accelerator instrumentation using THz technology, having the potential for major impact on the field of electron bunch-by-bunch diagnostics”.


Applicants for the EPS-AG Bruno Touschek prize, which is awarded to a student or trainee accelerator physicist or engineer, will be judged on the quality of the work submitted to the IPAC conference.

The previous (2017) EPS-AG prizewinners were: Lyn Evans of CERN (Rolf Widerøe Prize); Pantaleo Raimondi of the ESRF (Gersh Budker Prize), Anna Grassellino of Fermilab (Frank Sacherer Prize); and Fabrizio Giuseppe Bisesto of INFN-LNF (Bruno Touschek Prize).

bright-rec iop pub iop-science physcis connect