EPS announces 2023 awards

20 June 2023

The High Energy and Particle Physics Division of the European Physical Society (HEPP-EPS) has announced the winners of this year’s awards.

Cecilia Jarlskog

The EPS High Energy and Particle Physics Prize is awarded for an outstanding contribution in a experimental, theoretical or technological achievement. This year, the recipients are Cecilia Jarlskog for the discovery of an invariant measure of CP violation in both quark and lepton sectors; and the Daya Bay and RENO collaborations for the observation of short-baseline reactor electron-antineutrino disappearance, providing the first determination of the neutrino mixing angle, which paves the way for the detection of CP violation in the lepton sector.

The 2023 Giuseppe and Vanna Cocconi Prize (honouring contributions in particle astrophysics and cosmology in the past 15 years) is awarded to the SDSS/BOSS/eBOSS collaborations for their outstanding contributions to observational cosmology, including the development of the baryon-acoustic oscillation measurement into a prime cosmological tool, using it to robustly probe the history of the expansion rate of the Universe back to one-fifth of its age providing crucial information on dark energy, the Hubble constant, and neutrino masses.

The 2023 Gribov Medal is awarded to Netta Engelhardt for her groundbreaking contributions to the understanding of quantum information in gravity and black-hole physics. This medal goes to early-career researchers working in theoretical physics or field theory.

Valentina Cairo

The 2023 Young Experimental Physicist Prize of the High Energy and Particle Physics Division of the EPS ­– for early-career experimental physicists – is awarded to Valentina Cairo for her outstanding contributions to the ATLAS experiment: from the construction of the inner tracker, to the development of novel track and vertex reconstruction algorithms and to searches for di-Higgs boson production.

Honouring achievements in outreach, education, and the promotion of diversity, the 2023 Outreach Prize of the High Energy and Particle Physics Division of the EPS is awarded to Jácome (Jay) Armas. It recognizes his outstanding combination of activities on science communication, most notably for the “Science & Cocktails” event series, revolving around science lectures which incorporate elements of the nightlife such as music/art performances and cocktail craftsmanship and reaching out to hundreds of thousands in five different cities world-wide.

All awards will be presented at the EPS Conference on High Energy Physics, which will take place in Hamburg from 21 to 25 August.

Full citations can be found here:

bright-rec iop pub iop-science physcis connect