From the July/August 1975 issue

Extended collaboration with Soviet scientists

Protocol signature

On 10 July a Protocol was signed by Director General W K Jentschke, representing CERN, and Deputy Chairman I G Morozov, representing the USSR State Committee for the Utilization of Atomic Energy, extending the collaboration already existing between CERN and high-energy physics centres in the Soviet Union. The Protocol opens up, for Soviet scientists, access to the CERN Intersecting Storage Rings and the 400 GeV proton synchrotron. It is a further stage of the collaboration that gives Western European scientists access to the 76 GeV proton synchrotron at Serpukhov, for several years the highest energy accelerator in the world.

The Protocol has now become the formal mechanism of co-operation between CERN and the Institutes of the State Committee and Academy of Sciences – such as Serpukhov, Yerevan, Gatchina, Novosibirsk and ITEP Moscow. Relations with the international Laboratory at Dubna will continue under a separate system, as in the past.

  • Compiled from text on p220.

Inauguration of the SC II machine

SC II inauguration

On 1 July, the improved 600 MeV synchro- cyclotron was officially inaugurated. The Director General of CERN Laboratory I, Professor W K Jentschke, gave the Inaugural Address, E G Michaelis, Head of the SC Division, described the improvement programme and Sir Denys Wilkinson spoke about the physics the machine can now tackle.

The accelerator has been modified so that its internal beam current can increase from 1.3 to 10 μA and its ejection efficiency from 1% to 70%. This has involved the installation of a new type of ion source, a rotating condenser in the r.f. accelerating system, a magnetic beam extraction channel and a variety of other modifications needed to cope with higher intensities. With a performance at these levels, the CERN synchrocyclotron provides facilities competitive with the new meson factories at LAMPF, SIN and TRIUMF.

  • Compiled from text on p222.

Peyrou tribute

Ch Peyrou

On 30 June Ch Peyrou received yet another tribute to his achievements during his years as head of track chambers at CERN. The photograph shows D C Colley, Chairman of the Track Chamber Committee, presenting Professor Peyrou with a first edition copy of the collected works of the 18th century physicist J Bernoulli.

Firnberg visit

Firnberg tour

On 27 June Dr H Firnberg, the Austrian Minister of Science and Technology, visited CERN. She is pictured here in conversation with W Schnell, Director of the ISR Department, during a tour of the Intersecting Storage Rings.

  • Compiled from text on p221.

Compiler’s note

CERN Courier July/August 1975

In 1971 a quasi-separate CERN Laboratory II had been set up to build the Super Proton Synchrotron (SPS), coupled to machines in the existing laboratory. By 1975 the SPS was nearing completion and in June the CERN Council voted for a major reorganisation.

In 1976 the two laboratories were united under two Directors-General (DG), with L van Hove as research DG and J B Adams as executive DG. Laboratory II became the SPS Division and in ex-Laboratory I, the Synchrocyclotron Division [leader Ernst Michaelis, image above] was amalgamated with the Proton Synchrotron Division.

With the increasing overlap of experimental approaches using electronic techniques and bubble chambers, the Nuclear Physics Division and Track Chambers Division [leader Charles Peyrou, image above] were regrouped into an Experimental Physics Division, housing the experimental research physicists, and an Experimental Physics Facilities Division, housing staff working on large shared facilities such as bubble chambers and spectrometers.

About the author

Compiled by Peggie Rimmer