ACFA and IPAC announce accelerator prizes

The Asian Committee for Future Accelerators (ACFA) and the 7th International Particle Accelerator Conference (IPAC’16) have named the winners of the ACFA/IPAC’16 Accelerator Prizes for outstanding and original contributions to the field. The recipients, selected by the ACFA/IPAC’16 Accelerator Prizes Committee, under the chairmanship of Shin-ichi Kurokawa, COSYLAB and KEK, will receive their awards at the IPAC’16 conference in Busan on 8–13 May.

Derek Lowenstein of Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) receives the Xie Jialin Prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field, with no age limit. In particular, he led the construction of the Alternating Gradient Synchrotron (AGS) Booster, which culminated in a world-record proton intensity in the AGS. He continued his leadership in overseeing the commissioning, operation and upgrades of BNL’s Relativistic Heavy-Ion Collider (RHIC), the world’s first heavy-ion and polarised-proton collider. He was also instrumental in the establishment, at the AGS Booster, of the NASA Space Radiation Laboratory – a facility dedicated to the study of radiobiological effects important to human space flight to Mars or other planetary missions.

The Nishikawa Tetsuji Prize for a recent, significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, with no age limit, is awarded to Gwo-Huei Luo, of the National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (NSSRC). He receives the prize in particular for his leading role in the management, construction and commissioning of the Taiwan Photon Source (TPS), which has exceeded its design goal as one of the world’s brightest light sources. His dedication, broad expertise and leadership contributed in a critical way to the success of the TPS, which had to satisfy a number of challenges including the use of superconducting cavities for high current and high RF power.

Last, the Hogil Kim Prize for a recent, significant, original contribution to the accelerator field – awarded to an individual in the early part of his or her career – goes to Sam Posen of Fermilab. He is recognised for recent important, original contributions to accelerator technology, especially to the development of Nb3Sn-film-coated superconducting RF cavities. His achievements include developing a process for producing a special Nb3Sn film on niobium and demonstration of its excellent performance in terms of the critical field and Q factor, which are expected to outperform traditional niobium cavities.

• For more about IPAC’16, see

Gianpaolo Bellini receives the 2016 Pontecorvo Award

Gianpaolo Bellini has been awarded the prestigious 2016 Bruno Pontecorvo Prize by the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR). Bellini is honoured for his "outstanding contributions to the development of low-energy neutrino-detection methods, their realisation in the Borexino detector, and the important solar and geo-neutrino results obtained in this experiment".

Emeritus scientist of the Italian National Institute of Nuclear Physics (INFN) and full professor (now retired) at the University of Milan (Italy), Bellini is an experimental physicist in the fields of elementary-particle and astroparticle physics.

In the various experiments that he has carried out at major international laboratories, Bellini has achieved many important scientific results, including breakthroughs such as the first measure of the lifetime of a particle with charm by an exponential method, performed at CERN (the FRAMM experiment, in collaboration with an INFN Pisa group). Since 1990, Bellini has designed, installed and managed the Borexino experiment (in the Gran Sasso Laboratory, Italy) as spokesman, for more than 20 years.

Over recent years, the Borexino collaboration has published many important results, including the first measurement of the total solar energy via neutrinos and of the neutrino fluxes produced by the various nuclear reactions in the Sun; the first measurement of the neutrino oscillation in a vacuum; and evidence of geo-neutrinos with more than 99.9999993% probability.

Currently, Borexino is working to obtain the first measurement of the important CNO cycle, and probe short-range (10 m) neutrino oscillations with an artificial neutrino source.