Giorgio Apollinari selected as new head of LARP

With extensive leadership experience in accelerator research and development, Giorgio Apollinari will be the next director of the US LHC Accelerator Research Program (LARP), which co-ordinates US activities related to the LHC accelerator. He replaces Eric Prebys, who successfully led LARP for the past five years.

Apollinari's responsibilities will include leading the US LARP collaboration to define, develop and construct US contributions to the LHC High Luminosity accelerator upgrades early in the next decade, as well as maintaining the intellectual involvement of US accelerator scientists in improving LHC performance.

For the past six years Apollinari has led the technical division at Fermilab, developing world-class capabilities in superconducting radio frequency accelerator technology and materials science. The division has continued to play a central role in the development of superconducting accelerator magnets and materials, while supporting the operating accelerator complex, as well as construction project activities.

•US LARP is centred on Fermilab, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and SLAC.

New institute hosts programmes in astro- and particle-physics

The newly founded Munich Institute for Astro- and Particle-Physics (MIAPP) will launch its first scientific programme in May 2014. Located on the Garching research campus near the two Munich universities, several Max-Planck institutes and the European Southern Observatory, the institute aims to foster creative thinking in an informal working atmosphere and encourage exchange between scientists from all around the world.

Bridging the fields of particle physics and astrophysics, MIAPP has two directors. Martin Beneke is a theoretical particle physicist at the Technische Universität München (TUM), where MIAPP is part of the Excellence Cluster "Universe". Rolf Kudritzki is of the Institute for Astronomy at the University of Hawaii and the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich.

The new institute will host up to six four-week programmes a year on current subjects in astrophysics, cosmology, nuclear and particle physics. In 2014 these will focus on the extragalactic distance scale, the role of neutrinos in astro- and particle-physics, the challenges, innovations and developments in precision calculations for the LHC, as well as cosmology with the Planck satellite. Each programme will be organized by four co-ordinators, one or two of whom will come from the local scientific community to guarantee networking with scientists in the Munich area. A total of 45 scientists can participate in a programme.

The application deadlines for the 2014 workshop series are between August and November 2013, and proposals for the 2015 programme series can be submitted until 30 September 2013.

•To register, see the MIAPP website

Canadian minister visits CERN

Lisa Raitt, left, Canadian minister of labour, visited CERN on 18 June. She was welcomed by CERN's director-general, Rolf Heuer, before touring the ATLAS underground experimental area. Her visit concluded with a round-table discussion with Canadian scientists working at CERN.

Aymar and ten Kate honoured for contributions to superconductivity

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) has honoured Robert Aymar, former director-general of CERN, and Herman ten Kate, project leader for the ATLAS magnet system, for their contributions to the field of applied superconductivity. They received the awards at the 23rd International Conference on Magnet Technology, held in Boston in July.

Aymar, of the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA) and formerly of the ITER fusion project, was awarded the 2013 Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community for his promotion and leadership in the development of large-scale superconducting magnet systems and for promoting academic research related to applied superconductivity.

ten Kate, of CERN and the University of Twente, was a recipient of the 2013 Award for Continuing and Significant Contributions in the Field of Applied Superconductivity in the area of large-scale applications. He is recognized by the IEEE for his pioneering work in the construction of the first full-size accelerator dipole magnet employing Nb3Sn wire and operating above 11 T, for his managerial leadership in the ATLAS superconducting magnet system and for training young engineers and scientists in superconductor technology.

Joseph Minervini, of the Plasma Science and Fusion Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was also a recipient of the 2013 Award for Continuing and Significant Contributions in the Field of Applied Superconductivity in the area of large-scale applications.

François Flückiger joins Internet Hall of Fame

A computer scientist at CERN, François Flückiger, is one of the 32 new inductees to the Internet Hall of Fame, which annually celebrates individuals selected by the Internet Society (ISOC) for their significant contribution to developing and advancing the internet.

CERN is known for its invention of the World Wide Web but its contribution to the internet infrastructure – central for the internet's development – is less well known. Flückiger helped lead the struggle to promote the internet in Europe, at a time when most governments opposed internet technology and instead backed nascent ISO networking standards.

In 1988 he convened the founding meeting that led to the creation of Réseaux IP Européens (RIPE), a non-profit European organization to provide technical co-ordination of the internet infrastructure. He contributed in 1992 to the creation of Ebone (the pan-European internet backbone) by drafting the memorandum of understanding that laid down its basic principles and arranged in the same year for CERN to become a founding member of ISOC. Today, he is CERN's knowledge transfer officer for information technologies and director of its School of Computing. He is also a member of the ISOC Advisory Council and of the W3C Advisory Committee.