ACFA and IPAC announce accelerator prizes

The Asian Committee for Future Accelerators (ACFA) has joined forces with the first International Particle Accelerator Conference, IPAC ’10, to award prizes for outstanding work in the field of accelerators. This follows the introduction of a three-year cycle among the former Asian, European and North American particle-accelerator conferences (CERN Courier November 2009 p42). The ACFA/IPAC ’10 Prizes Selection Committee, chaired by Won Namkung of Pohang Accelerator Laboratory, decided on the prizes and the names of the winners in a meeting on 20 January. The awards will be awarded during IPAC ’10, which is being held in Kyoto on 23–28 May.

Steve Myers, the director for accelerators and technology at CERN, receives the Achievement Prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field, with no age limit. He is rewarded “for his numerous, outstanding contributions to the design, construction, commissioning, performance optimization and upgrade of energy-frontier colliders – in particular the ISR, LEP and the LHC – and to the wider development of accelerator science".

Efforts on the LHC are also recognized in the award of a prize for an individual, having made significant, original contributions to the accelerator field, with no age limit. This goes to Jie Wei of Tsinghua University in Beijing “for his exceptionally creative contributions to the design, construction and commissioning of circular accelerators, in particular RHIC, SNS, LHC, as well as the design of CSNS and for numerous significant developments in the field of beam dynamics".

A third prize, for an individual, in the early part of his or her career, having made a recent and significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, goes to Mei Bai of Brookhaven National Laboratory. She receives the reward “for her significant contributions to spin dynamics and polarized-proton acceleration in circular accelerators – in particular the AGS and RHIC, and to successful polarized proton beam collisions at 500 GeV centre-of-mass".

Victor Hess prize awarded for work on CMS experiment

The Committee for Nuclear and Particle Physics of the Austrian Physical Society has awarded the 2009 Victor Hess prize to Edmund Widl for research on the CMS experiment at CERN. He receives the prize for his doctoral thesis, Global Alignment of the CMS Tracker. The Victor Hess prize is awarded annually by the “Nuclear and Particle Physics" section of the Austrian Physics Society, for the best thesis in the field of nuclear and particle physics.

Widl did the research for his thesis at the Institute of High Energy Physics (HEPHY) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. The CMS Inner Tracker is the largest silicon tracking detector ever been built and consists of more than 13,000 silicon modules. The large number of modules and the complicated geometry of the detector make the task of alignment anything but trivial. In his thesis work, Widl developed a novel algorithm to estimate the nearly 100,000 positions and angles that comprise the alignment information.