John Adams Institute teams up with CERN

The John Adams Institute for Accelerator Science (JAI), a joint venture between the University of Oxford and Royal Holloway University of London, signed a collaboration agreement with CERN on 14 July. It will provide for co-operation between the JAI and CERN on a range of projects, from the LHC upgrade and the Compact Linear Collider Study to improved methods of treating cancer using protons and light ions.

The JAI is named after CERN's former director-general and renowned accelerator engineer, John Adams. Established in 2004, it provides a focal point for scientists and companies in the UK to develop leading concepts and technologies for major accelerator projects, as well as facilities and infrastructure for research and training in accelerator science and engineering.

The agreement was signed by CERN's director-general, Rolf Heuer, and the director of the JAI, Ken Peach. After the ceremony, visitors from the two universities toured the LHC accelerator, the ATLAS experiment and the respective control rooms.

Prize time in Krakow at EPS HEPP 2009

The European Physical Society High Energy and Particle Physics (EPS HEPP) prize for 2009 has been awarded to the Gargamelle Collaboration "for the observation of the weak neutral-current interaction". This is the first time that the prize has been given entirely to a collaboration. The prize committee, for this purpose, identified the Gargamelle Collaboration with the authors of the first paper on the observation of neutral-current interactions in the hadronic channel. Antonino Pullia and Jean-Pierre Vialle accepted the prize on behalf of the collaboration on 20 July, at the 2009 Europhysics Conference on High Energy Physics in Krakow. The medal is to be attached to the Gargamelle bubble chamber, which now stands in the grounds at CERN.

The discovery of neutral currents came through investigations of neutrino interactions in Gargamelle during the early 1970s (Gargamelle: the tale of a giant discovery). Neutrinos also featured in the award of the EPS HEPP Young Physicist prize in Krakow, which went to Maurizio Pierini of CERN and Niki Saoulidou of Fermilab. Saoulidou is rewarded for her contribution to neutrino physics; in particular she has worked on the DONUT and MINOS neutrinos experiments at Fermilab. Pierini receives his share of the prize for his contributions to the study and analysis of B mesons on the BaBar experiment at SLAC. The 2009 Gribov medal for outstanding work by a young physicist in theoretical particle physics and/or field theory goes to Freddy Cachazo of the Perimeter Institute, Canada, "for his research with others that led to significant simplifications in the calculation of scattering amplitudes in both gauge theories and gravity ones".

The 2009 EPS HEPP Outreach prize goes to Herbi Dreiner and Michael Kortmann of Bonn University "for the idea and realization of a physics show performed by university students and especially for the realization and sustainment of a particle-physics show within this framework". Dreiner performed one of the experiments from the show after the award ceremony, but it is usually students from Bonn who develop and perform the show (CERN Courier October 2007 p54).

At the same conference, Mick Storr and Andrzej Siemko of CERN received the Medal of the Commission of Polish National Education in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the organization of the Programme for Polish Teachers.

N N Bogoliubov prize goes to Paton and Shirkov

The N N Bogoliubov Prize of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) for the years 2006–2008 is to be awarded to Boris Yevgenievich Paton, president of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, and Dmitri Vasilievich Shirkov, academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences and honorary director of JINR's Bogoliubov Laboratory of Theoretical Physics.

Patron receives the prize for his outstanding contribution to science and the development of international co-operation, while Shirkov is honoured for his outstanding contribution to theoretical physics, in particular for the development of new methods in quantum-field theory. The prize was instituted in 1995 by the JINR Committee of Plenipotentiaries and is awarded once every three years to two scientists from different countries.