Society announces prestigious US awards

The prizes and awards presented annually by the American Physical Society are among the highest honours that physicists can receive. The awards that the society has announced for 2002 include:

The Edward A Bouchet award for promoting the participation of under-represented minorities in physics to Oliver Baker of Hampton University, Virginia, who is also a member of the ATLAS experiment at CERN, "for his contribution to nuclear and particle physics; for building the infrastructure to do these measurements; and for being active in outreach activities, both locally and nationally".

The Davisson-Germer prize for outstanding work in atomic physics or surface physics to Gerald Gabrielse of Harvard, long-time major figure in low-energy antiproton experiments at CERN and currently spokesman for the ATRAP study at the antiproton decelerator, "for pioneering work in trapping, cooling and precision measurements of the properties of matter and antimatter in ion traps".

The Joseph A Burton Forum award for outstanding contributions to the public understanding of resolution of issues involving the interface of physics and society to Adrian Melott of Kansas, "for his outstanding efforts in helping to restore evolution and cosmology to their proper place in the K-12 scientific curriculum. As both a distinguished cosmologist and respected member of the clergy, he played a key role in helping the people of Kansas to reverse their State Board of Education's anti-science action";

The Dannie Heineman prize for outstanding publications in mathematical physics to Michael Green of Cambridge and John Schwarz of Caltech "for their pioneering work in the development of superstring theory".

The J J Sakurai prize for theoretical particle physics to William Marciano of Brookhaven and Alberto Sirlin of New York University "for their pioneering work on radiative corrections, which made precision electroweak studies a powerful method of probing the Standard Model and searching for new physics".

The Robert R Wilson prize for outstanding achievement in the physics of particle accelerators to Alexander Skrinsky of the Budker Institute, Novosibirsk, who is also a former member of CERN's scientific policy committee, "for his major contribution to the invention and development of electron cooling and for his development of and contributions to the physics of the electron-positron colliders at the Budker Institute".

At the time of writing, not all of the 2002 awards had been announced.The second international Symposium on Applications of Particle Detectors in Medicine, Biology and Astrophysics (SAMBA II) will be held on 27-29 May 2002 at the International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Trieste, Italy. For further information visit sites/samba/ or contact the conference office: Ilde Weffort Paroni, Sincrotrone Trieste, Strada Statale S S 14, km 163.5, 34012 Basovizza, Trieste, Italy; tel. +39 040 375 8522; e-mail ilde.weffort@elletra.trieste. Other useful contacts for details are A Sharma, e-mail, and R Menk, e-mail".

A Conference on Advanced Statistical Techniques in Particle Physics will be held in Durham, UK, on 18-22 March 2002. The event will include invited talks and contributed papers. For more information visit Further details are also available from Louis Lyons, e-mail, and James Stirling, e-mail

Timothy Toohig 1928-2001

A unique gentleman was lost when Timothy Toohig died suddenly on 25 September at the age of 73.

A physicist and a Jesuit priest, Toohig was a mainstay of the US high-energy physics programme for four decades, working at universities, national laboratories and the Department of Energy (DOE). He was a member of the Johns Hopkins University team that discovered the eta meson in experiments at the Berkeley Bevatron. At Brookhaven he was responsible for the first slow-extracted proton beam from the Alternating Gradient Synchrotron. He participated, with a Soviet-US team, in a series of experiments at Fermilab, analysing the properties of mesons. Subsequently he led the US effort in a series of joint experiments on accelerators at Dubna and Serpukhov, studying the channelling of high-energy particles in crystals.

Tim Toohig was responsible for the neutrino experimental area during the initial construction of Fermilab and later for the conventional construction of the Tevatron. He was associated with the US Superconducting Super Collider (SSC) from its conception in 1983, working on design studies at Fermilab and serving as deputy head of the Conventional Facilities Division for the Central Design Group that was set up at Berkeley. He was deputy associate director of the Conventional Construction Division from the establishment of the SSC laboratory in Texas in 1989 until the project ended in 1994.

For several years, Toohig had been working at DOE, on loan from his position as research professor at Boston College. He served as the DOE/NSF programme manager for the substantial US participation in the Large Hadron Collider project at CERN and as the DOE monitor for the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center.

Tim Toohig was a special person in the world of science. His genial good humour and wisdom guided us and we depended on his strength. He was a tireless worker who tried to cut through difficult problems, and a strong arm to lean on when troubles came. His friends were many and all of us will miss Father Tim.
Neil Baggett, US Department of Energy.


Physical Electronics tailors stability of ion pump uses
Physical Electronics, which is a US-based company that specializes in ultrahigh-vacuum technology, has developed a method for tailoring the speed and stability of ion pump applications without increasing the cost. This is accomplished by changing the fixed historical ratio of cathode materials, titanium and tantalum, from 50 : 50, to a variable ratio ranging from 0 to 85% tantalum.

Titanium is used for fast pumping speeds, while tantalum is used to provide stable vacuum pressure. Using this innovation, applications that require stability from air leaks can be configured to use less tantalum, while applications introducing noble gases can be configured to use more tantalum to ensure greater stability.

More information about this method is available from Physical Electronics, UHV Technologies Group, 6509 Flying Cloud Drive, Eden Prairie, MN 55344; tel. (toll free - US only) 800-237-3603 (international) +1 952-828-6100; fax +1 952-828-6322; e-mail; Web site